Villa Maya Retreat

Guest reviews

August 13th, 2018 - August 18th, 2018

“We had a wonderful time. The service was the best we have seen. Made Rai, Chika, Kadek, Mandra were awesome made us feel at home. Thank you very much, we stayed with four kids and couldn't have asked for more. Thank you again for the love and care. Hope to stay with you guys again.”

Prajakta D, United States

August 9th, 2018 - August 12th, 2018

“We enjoyed stay here in Villa Maya Retreat. The villa were beautiful. The food was delicious, the staff welcoming and friendly. Thank you.”

Pandu S, Indonesia

July 17th, 2018 - July 22nd, 2018

“Such a wonderful place to celebrate the beginning of our marriage with some of our closest friends. We relaxed, partied and relaxed some more in paradise. Villa Maya is beautiful and luxurious and exceeded all of our expectations with its tranquil setting, delectable local cuisine and friendly staff to whom nothing was too much trouble. We felt welcomed from the very first contact and would recommend Villa Maya to anyone wanting a sumptuous experience. Thank you so much. ”

Kelly S, Australia

June 29th, 2018 - July 10th, 2018

“After being delayed by flight down (mt Agung) Actually all 14 members of the family arrived at this wonderful location. We range from grand father to the latest addition and we have had an amazing experiences over the part 12 days. The food and the staff have been wonderful. We have enjoyed our stay. Thanks to all the staff for caring for all of the family.”

Robin P, Australia

June 16th, 2018 - June 22nd, 2018

“What a wonderful week we have had celebrating 2 60th Birthdays. The staff have been fantastic looking after us, amazing food, sensational special birthday dinner on Wednesday. We were overwhelmed with the music and dancing displayed by the villages. Chika has been warm and welcoming - we will miss the banana pancakes. Thank you Kadek for cleaning our rooms as well as kitchen assistance. Made has been a great host, trying to fix and meeting our requests and needs. All staff are friendly and helpful and courteous - 7 women and we felt safe and secure at all times. ”

Jo C, Australia

June 7th, 2018 - June 8th, 2018

“The villa is a little oasis. We enjoyed our stay here very much. Thank you to Made and the staff for the excellent service. We hope to return again with family. ”

Rebecca S, Australia

June 2nd, 2018 - June 6th, 2018

“Made has been really helpful and thoughtful during our stay. We very much enjoyed staying here and will definitely visit Villa Maya sometime in the future. Thank you.”

Joey T, Canada

May 18th, 2018 - May 22nd, 2018

“Villa Maya is an amazing place to stay. Relaxing, peaceful has everything we need for an awesome holiday. The staff are great. Thank you all staff, you made our stay one to remember.”

Tim L, Indonesia

May 3rd, 2018 - May 14th, 2018

“The staff...wow...what can we say. Amazing wonderful service! We couldn't have asked for a better time, we are so impressed! Polite, friendly and totally prepared to go out at their way. Exceptional service from Made, Rai and Chika. Thank you so much and we will miss you. We loved the local dishes, fresh food cooked to perfection. We will return to the villa if we ever come to Bali again because of the fantastic level of service from the staff. ”

Hester H, New Zealand

April 18th, 2018 - April 23rd, 2018

“I stayed at Villa Maya Retreat which was as close as I have ever been to paradise. The people who hosted us were like diamonds, if the world ever was full of people like this, the world would be like heaven of earth. The food was magnificent and now I have to go on a diet! The time has now past but the memories will never last, thank you to all staff.”

Brendan C, Australia

April 7th, 2018 - April 17th, 2018

“We very enjoyed our stay here at Villa Maya Retreat. Villa is amazing! Very beautiful, large territory, cozy large rooms. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us.”

Galina M, Russia

March 30th, 2018 - April 4th, 2018

“The staff have been accommodating and very helpful. They always try and are very helpful in meeting our requests, thank you.”

Janice N, Malaysia

February 12th, 2018 - February 15th, 2018

“Thank you very much to all the staff for the hospitality and kindness. We do enjoy the stay in Villa Maya Retreat. We will come back next time, thanks. ”

Conghao H, Australia

December 23rd, 2017 - January 2nd, 2018

“11 of us stayed here at Villa Maya, bringing together 2 families from the UK and Australia to share Christmas together. The villa has been magnificent,so much space for us, big bedrooms, and the experience of an outdoor bathroom has been great ! Relaxing by the pool and listening to the sounds of the birds, roaster, dogs, pigs etc has been beautiful. Every meal produced by the staff has been absolutely beautiful.They can't do enough for you, making sure you get what you want and being so friendly. Made Rai is an absolute gentleman, always going out of his way to make sure you you have what you need and suggesting great places in Bali to visit. We all have enjoyed our stay here at Villa Maya, and would recommend to anyone with a large group like ourselves to stay here. Thank you to everyone at Villa Maya for an awesome holiday experience. Much Love!”

Liz P, United Kingdom

October 18th, 2017 - October 24th, 2017

“We have very much enjoyed our stay here at Villa Maya Retreat, This is a very special place in Bali, made all the more enjoyable by the birds, butterflies, frogs, roaster and dogs..etc. - the local environment is beautiful. The cooking and service was awesome, we enjoyed all your meals. The rooms were excellent. Thank you all for everything.we have enjoyed our stay. We will recommend this villa. Much Love. ”

Barbara F, Australia

September 4th, 2017 - September 7th, 2017

“We were 10 group with 2 year old and 92 year old. We were warmly welcomed, and during our three night stay,we were appreciative of the specious accommodation and the abundant, tasty food with which we were treated during our breakfast, lunches and dinners. We found Made Rai, Chika and the staff to be very accommodating and friendly and we enjoyed their humour and hard work, they were especially inclusive and considerate of our 2 year old and our 92 year old. We would highly recommend Villa Maya to anyone who likes a quiet, unhurried existence with the distant sounds of a few roosters, the odd dog, thrown in to remind you of the fact that you are in the country.”

Glorya V, Australia

May 20th, 2017 - May 27th, 2017

“This villa is Paradise. We would recommend highly to everyone we meet. In particular Made Rai, Justin, Goldie, Jacky, Kenji, made us feel like family. The peanut satay sticks (highly addictive) and the swimming pools are fabulous. We can't wait to come back with lots more people. Thank you for everything.”

Kim O, Australia

May 6th, 2017 - May 13th, 2017

“What a wonderful week we have had being thoroughly spoiled by the staff, and especially Made Rai who has driven us wherever we wanted to go, and Chika who cooked the most beautiful meals - supported by Kadek and our Chef. The ambience and tranquility will be hard to replicate again. Thanks so much for a wonderful week.”

Greg J, Australia

April 23rd, 2017 - April 28th, 2017

“This was the best vocation on our lives. We are in the service industry...we are recognize great service. We thank you for everything, we love you and want you to come home with us. Thanks for all Villa Maya team. We will be back.”

Laura T, United States

April 7th, 2017 - April 14th, 2017

“We are a group of ten here at Villa Maya. We have enjoyed our stay very much. Villa Maya is set in beautiful surrounding.The staff have been wonderful in every way, polite, helpful, and very friendly. Chika and Mandra is a fabulous chef, the food was delicious at every meal. They and the staff were brilliant. Thank you Made Rai for all your help and support.”

Anna S, Australia

March 17th, 2017 - March 22nd, 2017

“Our group of 12 spent 5 days here, Totally relaxing, just what we were looking for. Thank you to the staff for taking care of us and all our requests. Nothing was to much. Special thanks to Made, Rai, Chef, Chika and the helper. Thank you and will be back.”

Bradey C, Australia

October 17th, 2016 - October 21st, 2016

“A wonderful villa in paradise made all the more special by Mr Made Rai and his team who are very attentive and make sure everyone is happy. The food was amazing. We will be back.”

Jamie, United Kingdom

October 5th, 2016 - October 9th, 2016

“The Maya Retreat was perfect in every way. The staff beautiful, welcoming, and friendly. The food was extremely delicious and well cooked. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. Thank you. ”

Megan J, Australia

September 23rd, 2016 - September 30th, 2016

“The setting and the staff are fantastic. Special thanks to Made Rai and Chika for helping us to enjoy the ambiance of this beautiful villa.”

Angie F, Australia

August 6th, 2016 - August 19th, 2016

“Thanks for our marvelous holidays in Bali and specially in Villa Maya Retreat, The staff is very kindly and we spent two perfect weeks. Thank you for all. Mercy beau coup pour tout.”

Nadine L, France

July 6th, 2016 - July 10th, 2016

“Thank you all so much for your warm hospitality, words cannot express our great gratitude for giving us the opportunity to unwind. Stunning service. Great work. Warmest thanks.”

Jeremy H, Indonesia

April 19th, 2016 - April 24th, 2016

“Villa Maya Retreat everything was WON-DER-FUL ! ! ! The Houses, The Staff, the organization of activities,the villa manager, the food....Everything was excellent !”

Annie M, France

April 2nd, 2016 - April 9th, 2016

“I was delighted to be invited to my dear friend's 50th birthday, to find out that she was celebrating in Bali, was a surprise!!!! I have been continually amazed, with her choice of venue - Villa Maya. The service provided all week has been exemplary. We have been so impressed with Chika's attention, and professionalism. I have never met a harder worker - well done Chika (great sense of humor too). Made Rai has been a pleasure, always calm, punctual and happy. All of the staff have done a great job all week. Villa Maya, you are indeed blessed. Thank you.”

Sharon O, Australia

December 26th, 2015 - January 2nd, 2016

“All the staff were amazing, welcoming and and went the extra mile to make an amazing experience even more unforgettable.The food was incredible, we simply cannot credit it enough. We all love the pool. Thanks guys.”

Lauren O, Australia

October 15th, 2015 - October 19th, 2015

“We have had such an amazing time here at the Villa Maya. The surrounds, the staff, the many wonderful rooms of the villa...so memorable...what a way to spend a holiday in Bali. Special thanks to Made Rai and Chika. Thanks for all your help!!”

Saarloos S, Indonesia

September 18th, 2015 - September 29th, 2015

“The villa was great, it was clean, up to date,the staff are great and helpful. The facilities are magnificent.”

Moe H, Saudi Arabia

September 3rd, 2015 - September 7th, 2015

“What amazing experience, starting from our arrival and the warmest of welcomes from Made Rai and Chika. The rooms and the grounds are amazing, with a beautiful communal dining but also your own space where you can hangout by yourself. The whole setting is stunning. All the food was delicious - tasty and plenty of it. Bbut I have to say it was the warm smile of Made Rai, Chika and everyone else that really made this stay so enjoyable. Thank you.”

Matilda K, Australia

August 8th, 2015 - August 22nd, 2015

“We had a fantastic time at Villa Maya. Thanks to made Rai and his great staff who made our stay a real dream. We won,t forget the sound of Chicka's laugh, the massages, the food. Everything was better than we ever expected! Bali will Stay in our heart forever. Thank you.”

Francoise L, France

July 25th, 2015 - August 1st, 2015

“We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Maya Retreat. The property is truly amazing. If you are looking to experience true Bali style indoor/outdoor living this is the place. The layout is perfect for large groups traveling together with the common area pool, lounges and living spaces providing perfect gathering spaces and the individual bungalow rooms and terraces providing opportunities for privacy when wanted. The location is quiet and relaxed which was perfect for us but if you are looking for exciting nightlife it might be a bit remote. The staff was wonderful including Made who helped us organize all of our outings and Chica who made delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners. I would highly recommend this property. It feels like you have the exclusive use of a luxury resort for just your friends and family. ”

Kevin H, United States

July 11th, 2015 - July 17th, 2015

“Villa Maya an amazing place to stay. Relaxing, peaceful has anything in need for an awesome holiday. The staff are great, nothing is to much trouble. Villa Manager Made Rai is the best. Thanks Made and staff you made our stay one to remember.”

Joan S, Australia

June 11th, 2015 - June 14th, 2015

“The past week spent at Villa Maya will stay with me forever. Everything from the beautiful environment in which the villa sits to the amazingly, attentive and kind staff has been beyond perfect. I will absolutely recommend this villa to anyone coming to Bali. Thank You.”

Pauline T, Australia

May 27th, 2015 - June 1st, 2015

“What an amazing place we had ,the best time here at Villa Maya. Made Rai and all the staff ensured our special day was nothing but magical. We have had a terrific holiday and would highly recommend Villa Maya. P.S. can we please take Made Rai home?”

Kelly S, Australia

April 2nd, 2015 - April 5th, 2015

“Wonderful staff, fantastic surrounds and beautiful food. I appreciate the effort and kind heartedness. I will definitely be back.”

Charlotte D, Singapore

March 22nd, 2014 - March 29th, 2014

“This was an exceptional villa with excellent accommodation and I highly recommend to those whose main goal is to chill out and relax. The service provide by Made (Villa Manager) was great and the meals cooked by Tikka and the kitchen staff were delicious - making it too easy to stay in. The only downside is that this Villa is located quite a distance from major tourist towns, so is not suitable for those that want to be in the middle of the shopping action or nightclub late into the night. However the use of a driver does allow you to venture around fairly easily. ”

Annelie Mitchell, Australia

February 8th, 2014 - February 15th, 2014

“I do not often give 10. In your price range is 10 is expected but not often delivered. The villa has the charm of Bali unlike a number of other villas that could be anywhere. I loved the fact that you could get away for some seclusion in beautiful garden surroundings . We picked Villa Maya for that reason. The staff were professional, approachable and delightful to deal with. I highly recommend Villa Maya. ”

Moyra M, Australia

February 3rd, 2014 - February 5th, 2014

“A hidden gem amidst rice terraces. Great decor, amazing and kind staff. Separate bedrooms allow intimacy even when you are traveling in a bigger group. You can easily spend your whole holiday on villa terraces without going outside.”

Katarzyna Boni ., Poland

September 20th, 2013 - September 27th, 2013

“Our experience was outstanding. The property is magnificent--the photos do not do it justice. It is located in a quiet village and is not "in the mix", but is very accessible to Seminyak and not far from the airport and Ubud, depending on traffic. If you are looking for a property to walk out and hit restaurants and clubs, this place is not for you. However, if you want a serene, gorgeous and relaxing spot, this is for you. The staff went above the call to take excellent care of us. We, and our guests, were delighted. Made and Tikka (spelling?), the cook, were particularly superb. We wanted to kidnap them and bring them home with us, they were so delightful. We hope to return and will heartily recommend this property to friends.”

Stephen Randall ., United States

August 17th, 2013 - August 24th, 2013

“A lovely large villa complex in the middle of the countryside. The staff were excellent as was the quality of the cooking. For those wanting a real getaway this villa is highly recommended. The plunge pools plus main pool make it ideal for groups of friends or family who prefer their own space at times but with a central meeting place for cocktails at 6!”

Siobhan R, Australia

July 25th, 2013 - July 26th, 2013

“Villa is a delightful hideaway. Staff were amazingly friendly - more homely than stiff. Great bedrooms - 3 have their own private plunge pool, so romantic. Close enough to Seminyak and beach but far enough away to avoid the crowds and traffic. The real Bali. Very happy here and would come back in a flash.”

Jon S, Singapore

May 26th, 2013 - May 31st, 2013

“If your after peace and serenity this is the villa for you, set away from the hussell and bussell in a quiet village. The gardens and surrounds were just beautiful and the staff were lovely. Thank you for a lovely stay! ”

Helen C, Australia

May 18th, 2013 - May 25th, 2013

“The villa was amazing! Really lived up to it's photos and the other reviews. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. We had planned to stay for 6 nights but extended our stay another night as we couldn't bear to leave.”

Graham K, Australia

May 17th, 2013 - May 18th, 2013

“It is my pleasure to recommend the Maya Retreat. I have also commented the same on their face book page. The villa is absolutely fabulous. It is great venue for a group of friends and or family. We shared it with friends for a Birthday dinner which the resident chef created. It was devine and I cannot fault it , it was simply delicious. The staff are attentive and gracious, and it is efficiently run by Made, who is a lovely gently Balinese man whose has an excellent command of English. He had organised everything with his staff that we had asked for, and the villa a blase with tea candles for our magnificent celebration dinner. Ten out of ten all round. ”

Vanessa Rea, Indonesia

April 28th, 2013 - May 1st, 2013

“The few days we spent at the villa Maya were fabulous. The atmosphere is very calm, the staff is discreet and available. The rooms are very comfortable. Close to heaven...”

Stéphane J, France

March 8th, 2013 - March 13th, 2013

“The staff were BRILLIANT !!!!made our stay very memorable ”

BA, Australia

January 2nd, 2013 - January 7th, 2013

“The maya villa resort has been the best place we have stayed in Bali so far and the staff were there for every need very polite and helpful thank you too you all :)”

Ana Lopez, Australia

November 10th, 2012 - November 18th, 2012

“I recently spent 16 nights at Villa Sungai Gold next door which was awarded Winner Best Overseas Property Lodge or Villa by Luxury Travel Magazine. Last week I spent 9 nights at Villa Maya and it wins hands down, even though its half the price. Your staff are wonderfully warm, natural and were there for our every request. Being foodies I thought the Villa Maya meals might struggle against Villa Sungai but Maya was certainly better even though there was one chef competing against three. So what did I get at Villa Sungai for twice the price.... 1000 thread count sheets....Acqus di Parma toiletries....better sound system. Sungai Gold is about 80 sq m ...Villa Maya 5000 sq m with spectacular gardens. I could go on.... in fact why an I telling everyone when I want to keep this place as my secret.”

Stephen Gray, Australia

November 3rd, 2012 - November 10th, 2012

“In general, the villa is very good but it is need some improvement in electricity. The staff and services are really great ”

Ahmed Alzouabi, India

October 17th, 2012 - October 20th, 2012

“The Villa is sublime and very tranquil. A little out of the way but still only 1 hr to Ubud and 1 hr to airport (depending on traffic). Ibu Chika and her crew do a marvelous job in the kitchen as well as making you feel pampered and spoiled. Would highly recommend this Villa for families or a reunion for couples, the bedrooms are fantastic and there are loads of spaces to just relax and not feel on top of each other if you wanted some space. Grounds are perfect and sitting out at night with the candles all around the pool and garden is just magical. Meal preparation was very good we all enjoyed the attentive service and good food quality. ”

CS, Indonesia

April 1st, 2012 - April 3rd, 2012

“Great villa! love the jungle riverside setting and hearing the Balinese village festivities nearby. My kids loved the cave-like bathrooms and the pool. Thank you Made, Chica and staff for a fab holiday!”

PA, Indonesia

Villa Maya Retreat – Tabanan 6 bedroom luxury villa, Bali Elite Havens

From the moment you descend the broad stone staircase that carves its way down the river gorge, Villa Maya Retreat will captivate you with its beauty and tranquillity. Jungle vines hang from mature trees, moss and lichen cling to carved statues and a waterfall cascades all the way to the villa hidden below.

By the time you reach the villa it really sinks in that this is your own private paradise. A huge rust-red door swings open to reveal a lush and secluded oasis. Traditional thatch-roofed pavilions overlook the Penet River and clusters of towering bamboo, while a 12 x 5-metre swimming pool with timber deck provides the perfect spot to soak up the forest ambiance.

With six stand-alone bedrooms  (three with plunge pools), Villa Maya Retreat is perfect for families, friends or groups looking to share their holiday experience but who also desire privacy and room to breathe. Designed with space in mind there are plenty of places to take in the views and absorb the solitude; from the curtained relaxation balés to the secret garden alcoves to the sunset lounge at the river’s edge.

The Villa is set in true rural Bali with everything you need at your fingertips. A full complement of staff, including an experienced chef, is on hand to prepare and serve delicious home-cooked Asian and Western meals. A car and driver (additional daily charge) is also on standby for those eager to explore the island or indulge in Seminyak’s trendy restaurants, bars and shops (a 45 minute drive).

A stay at Villa Maya Retreat is not complete without exploring the pretty neighbouring village of Cepaka, located in the heart of Bali’s ‘rice bowl’. Here, guests are privy to local traditions that have been practiced for centuries. Whether it happens while you’re witnessing a temple ceremony, watching farmers tend their fields or simply playing with the village children in the street, it’s hard not to fall under the spell of the Island of the Gods, its magic leaving you refreshed and rejuvenated for your return home.
8 out of 10 based on 1 user reviews.
$750 $1225 out of 1